Winter Weather Moves Through Kentucky

Dec 26, 2012

A blizzard warning remains in effect until noon CST today for parts of Western Kentucky, according to the National Weather Service. Snowfall amounts of 6 to 12 inches are possible with windy conditions and gusts up to 40 mph. Some trees could fall and that could cause some power outages. Kentucky cities in the impacted area include Bardwell, Paducah, Mayfield, Benton, Murray, Marion, Eddyville, Prineceton, Morganfield, Madisonville, Henderson, Owensboro and Calhoun.

Travel will be difficult because of blowing snow and slick roads, the weather service said.

Meanwhile, the weather service office in Louisville said a winter weather advisory remains in effect until 6 p.m. CST today - mainly along the Ohio River. Cities in the area include Hawesville, Hardinsburg, Brandenburg, Beaver Dam and Bedford.

One to 4 inches of snow is possible along with sleet and possibly light ice accumulations of less than a quarter-inch are possible. Low visibility and windy conditions will hamper travel, NWS said.

Much the same conditions will exit today until 7 p.m. EST for areas including Elizabethtown, Fort Knox, Mount Washington, Shepherdsville, Louisville, LaGrange, Shelbyville and Taylorsville.

A winter weather advisory will be in effect from 2 p.m. to 8 p.m. EST today for areas around Lexington. One to 2 inches of snow is possible. Travel will be dangerous because of windy conditions.

One to 4 inches of snow is possible for Cadiz, Hopkinsville, Greenville and Elkton, according to the weather service.

The National Weather Service in Wilmington, Ohio, predicts 1 to 2 inches of snow and possibly sleet for areas including Carrollton, Warsaw, Owenton, Williamstown, Falmouth, Brooksville, Mount Olivet and Maysville beginning today at 2 p.m. and continuing until 1 a.m. Thursday.

About an inch of snow could fall in parts of Eastern Kentucky beginning about 4 p.m. today and tapering off about 8 p.m. today. Wind gusts of up to 25 mph could limit visibility at times. Cities in the effected area include Morehead, Barbourville, Middlesboro, Beattyville, Jackson and Manchester.