Two More Counties Eligible for Storm Assistance

Apr 12, 2012

Two more counties are now eligible for reimbursements to county and local governments to assist in recovery from the Feb. 29 and March 2 storms and tornadoes, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Thursday. This brings the total number of counties receiving some type of storm-related federal aid to 23. The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved Adair and Bath counties to receive public assistance, which provides reimbursements to county and local governments to repair public infrastructure or to remove storm debris. Bath County was previously approved for individual assistance.

“We’re grateful that these additional counties have been approved for public assistance,” Gov. Beshear said in a statement issued by his office. “Communities hit by the storms and tornadoes have been working hard on storm recovery, and this will bring additional resources to those efforts.”

The counties now approved for both individual and public assistance are Bath, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, LaRue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe.

The counties now approved for individual assistance are Campbell, Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Ohio, Rowan and Russell.

Adair and Ballard counties are approved for public assistance.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice, according to a state press release.

Deadly storms and tornadoes assaulted Kentucky on March 2, causing 23 deaths and more than 300 injuries. The governor deployed nearly 400 National Guard troops to assist with security, traffic control and other needs in affected counties