Three Finalists Named for LEX Schools

After deliberating for more than two hours behind closed doors Tuesday evening, the Fayette County School Board settled on three finalists to succeed outgoing Superintendent Stu Silberman. The finalists are: Elaine Farris, Superintendent of Clark County Public Schools in Winchester, Tom Shelton, Superintendent of Daviess County Public Schools in Owensboro, and Lu Young, Superintendent of Jessamine County Public Schools in Nicholasville.

Board of Education Chair John Price says the three were chosen from among 14 applicants coming from ten states including Kentucky.

"These candidates are all familiar with the funding formula, the SEEK formula, the political structure, if you will, in Kentucky. They understand School Based Decision Making Councils".

Price says in the end, Farris, Shelton, and Young, had more of what board members wanted to see. "We heavily considered some out of state candidates but as we reviewed and discussed them, we just felt that these people had the most qualities that we were looking for."

Each candidate will spend a full day in Lexington next week. They will meet with seven focus groups representing students, parents, school district employees, and community members. The school board plans to meet on the morning of June tenth to begin deliberations and possibly make a selection that day. The board hopes to have a new superintendent in place by July. Current superintendent Stu Silberman is retiring after seven years with the second largest school district in the state. He has taken on the director's position with the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence.