Police Officers from 17 Agencies Graduate from Basic Training

Dec 2, 2011

 Law enforcement officers from 17 agencies across the state graduated Friday from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The 29 officers of Class 428 completed 18 weeks of training, which consisted of more than 750 hours, recruit-level-officer academy instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid/CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and mechanics of arrest, restraint and control. 

Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers who are required to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies and was the first in the nation to be accredited under CALEA’s public safety training program designation. In 2006, the academy also became the first law enforcement training academy in the nation to be named as a CALEA flagship agency.

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and telecommunications training.


Ryan C. Atchley, Erlanger Police Department

Travis W. Ballard, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Mitchell S. Blum, Frankfort Police Department

Brandon S. Boone, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

Jay D. Dunn, Mayfield Police Department

Todd P. Edge, Bowling Green Police Department

Preston A. Eisenback, Shively Police Department

John P. Ewing, Jr., Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Andrew L. Glover, Louisville Metro Youth Detention Service

Marc A. Goetz, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Jeremy K. Harrell, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

Jonathan P. Henderson, Lakeside Pk./Crestview Hills Police Department

Jarrad L. Hipps, Letcher County Sheriff’s Office

Nick B. Houchens, Bowling Green Police Department

Wesley Long, Burkesville Police Department

Aaron L. McNeil, Erlanger Police Department

Travis J. McQuern, Bowling Green Police Department

Devin A. Meriwether, Sr., Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Heather M. Morrison, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

Winfer S. Music, Louisville Metro Youth Detention Service

Bruce A. Neville, Horse Cave Police Department

Joshua E. Perry, Carlisle County Sheriff’s Office

Tyler W. Russell, Madisonville Police Department

Josiah S. Super, Bowling Green Police Department

John D. Thompson, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office

Daniel S. Waddell, Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office

Jamie L. Wallen, Jackson County Sheriff’s Office

David A. Williams, Frankfort Police Department

Danny W. Wilson, Western KY University Police Department