Mon March 4, 2013
All Politics are Local

Obama Nominates New Heads of EPA, Energy Department

Gina McCarthy
Gina McCarthy
Credit EPA

President Obama has nominated Gina McCarthy to succeed Lisa Jackson as the administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, and Ernest Moniz as his new energy secretary. McCarthy was the head of the EPA's Office of Air and Radiation under Lisa Jackson, and spearheaded the administration's efforts to limit carbon dioxide emissions from new power plants and increase fuel standards.