Now Building Partnerships Across 18 Counties

Mar 1, 2012

A group dedicated to smart growth in central Kentucky has more than doubled its size.  President Rob Rumpke says Bluegrass Tomorrow now represents 18 counties. “When you talk about the projects and programs that `Bluegrass Tomorrow’ is all about, it has to include those counties.  Whether you’re talking about the Consortium of Higher Education, which goes all the way over to Morehead, or you’re talking about greenways and connectivity of trails and protection of the horse industry and those kinds of things,” said Rumpke.

This week, Rumpke says, Bluegrass Tomorrow helped launch a coalition of 12 Kentucky colleges and universities. When first created, he says they included seven counties. 

“We can all learn from each other.  Great synergy occurs when you bring partners to the table.  That’s the challenge is getting them to the table to begin with.  Great things begin to happen once you get them to the table,” said Rumpke.

Bluegrass Tomorrow now represents Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Nicholas, Powell, Scott, and Woodford counties.