Mountain Towns Added to Disaster Request

Jul 13, 2011

FRANKFORT – Gov. Steve Beshear has asked for a major disaster declaration from President Obama for those parts of Eastern Kentucky damaged by flooding, high winds and tornadoes on June 19. Beshear requested Individual Assistance, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

Seven counties have requested Public Assistance: Bell, Breathitt, Knott, Knox, Lee, Magoffin, and Perry. Five counties have requested Individuals and Households Assistance: Bell, Breathitt, Knox, Lee, and Perry.

Under a major disaster declaration, local governments, state agencies, small businesses, certain private non-profits (such as electrical cooperatives and water districts), individuals and households would be able to request financial assistance from the federal government to clean up, repair and replace property destroyed or damaged by the storm. 

Beginning June 19, severe thunderstorms rolled through multiple Eastern Kentucky counties, causing flash flooding, hail, and high winds which caused damage to public and private property. One death was attributed to the storms. 

Beshear immediately requested joint federal, state, and local surveys of the damaged areas. These estimates, which are the foundation for any disaster declaration request, were completed this week. Evaluation teams estimated public sector damages are in excess of $5.7 million. Teams also identified more than 350 homes and 65 businesses which were heavily damaged or destroyed.