EKU-MSU-Hazard Agreement

It’s going to be easier for Kentuckians with associate degrees at an eastern Kentucky school to move into full-fledged Bachelor’s degree programs. On Monday (today) Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State and Hazard Community and Technical College announced details of a collaborative regional education program.  EKU President Doug Whitlock says it’s called the Associate to Baccalaureate Degree Pathway

They are students that have been prepared by the community colleges in a variety of technical disciplines and they will be receiving a bachelor of arts or bachelor of science degrees through Eastern and Morehead,” said Whitlock.

Whitlock says it will be primarily aimed at non-traditional adult learners.  He believes other community colleges could become involved over time.  The Eastern president says the pathway program has the potential to increase the proportion of people in Kentucky with a baccalaureate  degree.

 “This collaborative venture is a hybrid of on-line courses, interactive television courses, and some standard classroom type work as well,” added Whitlock.

Whitlock says students would not travel to Eastern or Morehead for instruction.  They would be able to remain in the Hazard community.