Deadline Set for Disaster Jobless Pay

May 24, 2011

FRANKFORT — Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and the Federal Emergency Management Agency Tuesday announced that 11 Kentucky counties have qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Kentuckians in Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, Webster and Union counties who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred April 22 – May 20 may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

“Families must still pay bills and put food on the table in the wake of disasters,” Gov. Steve Beshear said. “This assistance may help many get back on their feet.”

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training, an agency of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

June 24 is the deadline for applying for benefits. All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local OET offices.

When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2010 income tax return. Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.