Committee Prepares Second Beshear Inauguration

Nov 16, 2011

On December 13th, Governor Steve Beshear will become only the second governor in Kentucky history to be sworn into a second consecutive term. Governor Beshear has appointed eight committee co-chairs to oversee the state's 59th inaugural celebration.

They include representatives from Inez, Midway, Louisville, and Henderson. Lt. Governor-elect Jerry Abramson will also take the oath December 13th, followed by all other elected state officials on Monday, January 2nd. Free public events are planned throughout the day, including an Inaugural Ball and parade. Mindful of the state's economic woes, Governor Beshear has said his second inauguration celebration will be more modest. His inaugural committee raised more than $750,000 in 2007. Beshear promises a smaller tab this year.