Beshear Announces Inauguration Committee Co-Chairs

Nov 16, 2011

On Dec. 13, Gov. Steve Beshear will become only the second Kentucky governor to be sworn in to a second consecutive term. To oversee the state's 59th inaugural celebration, the governor Wednesday named eight inauguration committee co-chairs.

They are:

· Jim and Linda Booth of Inez
· Tracy and Carol Farmer of Midway
· Wade and Alice Houston of Louisville
· Darrell and Lorna Littrell of Henderson

Lindy Karns, the inauguration’s treasurer, filed the committee names with the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance earlier this week.

“The inauguration is a celebration for all Kentuckians,” Beshear said in a press release from his office. “We look forward to a day that honors Kentucky traditions and marks our collective commitments to work together for the common good of our Kentucky families.”

Lt. Governor-elect Jerry Abramson will also be sworn in to office Dec. 13. The Kentucky Constitution provides that all other elected state officers will take their oaths of office Monday, Jan. 2.

During the inauguration, several free public events will be planned throughout the day, including the Inaugural Ball and a parade. Details about all the events will be made available in the coming days.

Additionally, state offices will be closed Dec. 13.