Focus on Business http://weku.fm en Focus on Business: Ron Crouch on Business Trends http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-ron-crouch-business-trends <p>Ron Crouch is Director of Research and Statistics, Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet in Frankfort. He oversees the development of databases on demographic, social, educational, workforce, and economic issues and trends relating to life in the Commonwealth. He spoke recently with Tom Martin about the numbers flowing across his desk and what they mean to us.</p><p></p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 15:33:47 +0000 Bryan Bartlett 57234 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Mukang Cho on Real Estate Financing http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-mukang-cho-real-estate-financing <p>Mukang Cho is CEO of In-Rel Properties, a privately held Florida real estate investment firm founded in 1985 with approximately $500 million in assets under management. Chase Tower on East Main Street in downtown Lexington is the firm’s first Kentucky acquisition.</p><p>It is among more than 6 million square feet of office and retail properties throughout the United States owned by In-Rel. With transactions to his credit valued at more than $100 billion, Cho is an expert on real estate financing.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 02:49:11 +0000 John Hingsbergen 56619 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Chris Young on Bluegrass Angels http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-chris-young-bluegrass-angels <p>Chris Young is a member of the Bluegrass Angels, a seed funding organization of some of Kentucky’s most accomplished entrepreneurs and business leaders.</p><p>Tom Martin’s conversation with Young begins with something new for The Bluegrass Angels:&nbsp; a “Launch Fund” – Chris’ concept of a competition to provide funding to entrepreneurs who have interesting business ideas, but are not yet far enough along to present them to the Bluegrass Angels group.&nbsp; As a result of its first competition, held recently, the Fund awarded $25,000 investments to each of four finalist companies.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 02:41:26 +0000 John Hingsbergen 56618 at http://weku.fm Damaged Corvettes to Get Fix-up by GM http://weku.fm/post/damaged-corvettes-get-fix-gm <p><font face="Arial Black,sans-serif" style="font-size: 16px; line-height: 1.5;">Eight cars that fell into a sinkhole at the National Corvette Museum in Bowling Green last week will be getting a little tender loving care.&nbsp; The prized sports cars were damaged when a 40 foot wide by 25 foot deep sinkhole swallowed them early last Wednesday.</font></p><p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 14:25:43 +0000 Stu Johnson WEKU News 55711 at http://weku.fm Damaged Corvettes to Get Fix-up by GM Focus on Business: Paul Coomes on Current Economic Conditions http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-paul-coomes-current-economic-conditions-0 <p>Paul Coomes is a retired Emeritus Professor of Economics at the University of Louisville and a consultant for the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce. He is recognized as one of the most knowledgeable and experienced economists in the Commonwealth. He spoke with Tom Martin about current economic conditions.</p><p></p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 02:35:20 +0000 John Hingsbergen 56617 at http://weku.fm Food Truck Talk in the Midst of Winter http://weku.fm/post/food-truck-talk-midst-winter <p></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black', sans-serif; font-size: 12pt; line-height: 1.5;">This time of year might be considered the off season for food truck vendors, but it still prompted some discussion at Lexington City Hall Tuesday.</span></p><p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 15:59:58 +0000 Stu Johnson WEKU News 55211 at http://weku.fm Food Truck Talk in the Midst of Winter Focus on Business: Lexington Mayor Jim Gray on Economic Advancement Efforts http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-lexington-mayor-jim-gray-economic-advancement-efforts <p>While Lexington and Louisville remain rivals in many areas, the mayors of both cities continue to move forward on a mutually beneficial economic partnership. They formed the Bluegrass Economic Advancement Movement (BEAM).&nbsp; They commissioned the Washington, D.C. think tank, The Brookings Institution, to conduct a study into the feasibility of creating a 22-county economic region, anchored by Lexington to the east and Louisville to the west.&nbsp;<br /> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 12:30:00 +0000 John Hingsbergen 54802 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Chamber of Commerce Agenda for the Ky General Assembly http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-chamber-commerce-agenda-ky-general-assembly <p>As the 2014 Kentucky General Assembly gets underway, Kentucky businesses are keeping an eye on Frankfort.&nbsp; Tom Martin spoke with Kentucky Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Dave Adkisson.</p><p></p><p><br />There’s more information about the Kentucky Chamber’s detailed agenda at <a href="http://www.kychamber.com/" target="_blank">www dot KY Chamber dot com.</a></p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 15:37:11 +0000 John Hingsbergen 54603 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Putting Entrepreneurs Together with Investors http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-putting-entrepreneurs-together-investors <p>Putting Kentucky entrepreneurs together with Kentucky investors is the aim of a new web-based network being rolled out in January by the state Cabinet for Economic Development.</p><p>Tom Martin talked with Dean Harvey, executive director of UK’s Von Allmen Center for Entrepreneurship, about the Kentucky Angel Network.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 05:04:19 +0000 John Hingsbergen 53787 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Creative Talent as Community Resource http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-creative-talent-community-resource <p>Commonly heard among economic development and education professionals is that in this 21st Century world creative talent drives a community’s economy and makes it an interesting place to live, work and play. In many cases, such talent lives and plays locally, but their work is not confined to the local economy. “Live local, work global,” as the saying goes.</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 13:00:00 +0000 John Hingsbergen 53197 at http://weku.fm The 2014 'Stingray' Gets High Marks http://weku.fm/post/2014-stingray-gets-high-marks <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(31, 73, 125); font-size: 12pt; font-family: 'Times New Roman', serif; line-height: 1.5;">The Chevrolet Corvette Stingray is driving home a second "car of the year" award.&nbsp;</span><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="3" style="color: rgb(40, 40, 40);"><span style="font-size: 12pt;"><font color="#1F497D">The vehicle manufactured at the Bowling Green General Motors plant has been &nbsp;named Autoweek's Best Car for 2014.&nbsp;</font></span></font><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="3" style="color: rgb(40, 40, 40);"><span style="font-size: 12pt;"><font color="#1F497D">Automobile magazine last month gave similar honors to the Stingray.</font></span></font></p><p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 14:07:39 +0000 Kevin Willis Kentucky Public Radio 53118 at http://weku.fm The 2014 'Stingray' Gets High Marks Focus on Business: Science, Education Research & Innovation http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-science-education-research-innovation <p>Tom Martin of the Lexington Herald Leader speaks with Kris Kimel, co-founder and president of the Kentucky Science and Technology Corporation, a non-profit that champions science, education, research and innovation in the Commonwealth.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 13:00:00 +0000 John Hingsbergen 52539 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Lexmark Ex VP Marty Canning http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-lexmark-ex-vp-marty-canning <p>Tom Martin speaks with Marty Canning, Executive Vice President of Lexmark International Incorporated and President of “Imaging Solutions and Services.”&nbsp;<br /><br />He has held that position since 20-10.&nbsp; Prior to that, Mr. Canning headed Lexmark’s former Printing Solutions and Services Division.&nbsp; Much has changed since those days, including the expertise and skills the company now requires of its employees.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 30 Nov 2013 00:24:41 +0000 John Hingsbergen 52540 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Fixing Lexington's Sewer Problems http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-fixing-lexingtons-sewer-problems <p>For years, hard rains in Lexington have caused sanitary and storm water sewer systems to overflow into streams and even homes.</p><p>These illegal “Sanitary Sewer Overflows,” are the basis of a 2006 lawsuit filed against the city by the Environmental Protection Agency and the state of Kentucky. A 2011 Consent Decree gives Lexington 10 years to fix the problem.&nbsp;</p><p>The agreement requires the city to establish a Capacity Assurance Program (CAP). It was developed by a seven-member task force that produced 19 recommendations for a plan submitted early this year to the EPA.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 16:19:58 +0000 John Hingsbergen 51704 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: EKU President Benson http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-eku-president-benson <p>Tom Martin, of the Lexington Herald Leader, speaks with Dr. Michael Benson, new President of Eastern Kentucky University about his first few months on the job.</p><p></p><p>Read more on <a href="http://www.kentucky.com/2013/10/21/2887000/tom-martin-qa-eku-president-discusses.html" target="_blank">Kentucky.com</a></p><p></p> Sat, 02 Nov 2013 06:15:25 +0000 John Hingsbergen 51521 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Kentucky Businesses & the Affordable Care Act http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-kentucky-businesses-affordable-care-act <p>Tom Martin of the Lexington Herald Leader speaks with Margaret Levi, lawyer with the ­Lexington firm of Wyatt, Tarrant &amp; Combs, and author of The Impact of Health Care Reform on Kentucky ­Employers, a 68-page booklet published by the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.</p><p></p><p><br />Read more here <a href="http://www.kentucky.com/2013/10/07/2864150/what-kentucky-businesses-need.html#storylink=cpy" target="_blank">on Kentucky.com&nbsp; </a></p><p></p> Sat, 12 Oct 2013 04:15:40 +0000 John Hingsbergen 51305 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Central KY Housing Market http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-central-ky-housing-market <p>Tom Martin of the Lexington Herald Leader speaks with Al Blevins, President of the Lexington Bluegrass Association of Realtors about The Central Kentucky housing market.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 02:31:04 +0000 John Hingsbergen 50451 at http://weku.fm Focus on Business: Commercial Real Estate http://weku.fm/post/focus-business-commercial-real-estate <p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 12:25:14 +0000 John Hingsbergen 49871 at http://weku.fm WEKU, Tom Martin Focus on Business http://weku.fm/post/weku-tom-martin-focus-business <p>Tom Martin, well known for his reports on the central Kentucky business scene, can now be heard on WEKU-FM. Martin’s “Focus on Business” report will air Mondays at 7:35 a.m. during Morning Edition and will be repeated on Mondays at 5:45 p.m. during All Things Considered.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 03:17:50 +0000 John Hingsbergen 49752 at http://weku.fm WEKU, Tom Martin Focus on Business