EKU Center for the Arts http://weku.fm en EKU Center's Aalberts on Eastern Standard http://weku.fm/post/eku-centers-aalberts-eastern-standard <p></p><p>Joel Aalberts&nbsp;is nearing his first anniversary as Director of the Eastern Kentucky University Center for the Arts. &nbsp;The<a href="http://www.eku.edu/news/eku-center-arts-announces-2014-15-lineup" target="_blank"> 2014-15 schedule</a> of concerts and other performances will be the first he has put together for the center which opened in 2011.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 19:58:09 +0000 John Hingsbergen 60254 at http://weku.fm EKU Center's Aalberts on Eastern Standard Arts & Performance Venues on Eastern Standard (audio available) http://weku.fm/post/arts-performance-venues-eastern-standard-audio-available <p>Central Kentucky has numerous facilities offering concert performances ranging from classical to country, traveling Broadway shows and special acts and events.&nbsp; How can this region support these venues and what challenges do they face?</p><p></p><p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 15:32:58 +0000 John Hingsbergen 51069 at http://weku.fm Arts & Performance Venues on Eastern Standard (audio available) Yo-Yo Ma and Silk Road Ensemble Perform Twice in Central Kentucky http://weku.fm/post/yo-yo-ma-and-silk-road-ensemble-perform-twice-central-kentucky <p>Yo-Yo Ma performed for two American presidents before the age of ten and is perhaps one of the best-known living classical musicians.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 16:17:16 +0000 Roger Duvall 41948 at http://weku.fm Yo-Yo Ma and Silk Road Ensemble Perform Twice in Central Kentucky EKU Center for the Arts Hosts Popular Blue Man Group http://weku.fm/post/eku-center-arts-hosts-popular-blue-man-group <p>November 9th and 10th, the EKU Center for the Arts hosts Blue Man Group. The act started in the late 80s&nbsp;and has been going strong worldwide ever since. While the 3-man acrobatic drumming troupe doesn't utter a word on stage, one of the performers, Chris Smith, talks here with Roger Duvall.</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 16:55:06 +0000 Roger Duvall 41314 at http://weku.fm EKU Center for the Arts Hosts Popular Blue Man Group EKU Hosts Scotland's Black Watch Pipes and Drums http://weku.fm/post/eku-hosts-scotlands-black-watch-pipes-and-drums <p>It's not every day you go to a concert featuring musicians who have been recently risking their lives on the battlefield. Such is the life of members of the pipes and drums of the Black Watch of the community of Fife in Scotland.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 19:07:30 +0000 Jonese Franklin 39592 at http://weku.fm EKU Hosts Scotland's Black Watch Pipes and Drums Lexington Ballet Brings "Cinderella" to EKU Center for the Arts http://weku.fm/post/lexington-ballet-brings-cinderella-eku-center-arts-0 <p>While the Lexington Ballet's home is based downtown, more and more they are traveling the area to bring ballet to a wider audience. This week, the EKU Center for the Arts will host the ballet's performance of&nbsp;<em>Cinderella.&nbsp;</em>Arts Weekly's Roger Duvall caught up with the Artistic Director of the ballet, Luis Dominguez.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 19:17:29 +0000 Roger Duvall 38899 at http://weku.fm Lexington Ballet Brings "Cinderella" to EKU Center for the Arts Rose Barn Theatre Presents "Steel Magnolias" http://weku.fm/post/rose-barn-theatre-presents-steel-magnolias <p>What started out a couple of decades ago as Richmond Community Theatre has grown into Rose Barn Theatre. While the group no longer performs in the tobacco barn that gave them their current name, community is still a very big part of the mission. Art's Weekly's Roger Duvall talked with Alice Jones, one of the actors in the current production of&nbsp;<em>Steel Magnolias.</em></p><p> Tue, 22 Jan 2013 20:13:46 +0000 Roger Duvall 38714 at http://weku.fm