eku http://weku.fm en Bees Buzzing on EKU Campus http://weku.fm/post/bees-buzzing-eku-campus <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>There's a buzz of activity this week at Eastern Kentucky University.</p><p>Hundreds of beekeepers from several states and outside the U.S. are in Richmond participating in the Eastern Apicultural&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Society meeting.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:24:16 +0000 Stu Johnson WEKU News 63075 at http://weku.fm Bees Buzzing on EKU Campus EKU Students Offer Advice to Better Link Campus with Downtown Richmond http://weku.fm/post/eku-students-offer-advice-better-link-campus-downtown-richmond <p></p><p><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black', sans-serif; font-size: 12pt; line-height: 1.5;">A group of Eastern Kentucky University students is offering several ideas to spur activity in downtown Richmond.&nbsp; A forum was staged Tuesday night in Eastern’s student center.</span></p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 16:11:47 +0000 Stu Johnson WEKU News 55212 at http://weku.fm EKU Students Offer Advice to Better Link Campus with Downtown Richmond EKU President Benson on Eastern Standard http://weku.fm/post/eku-president-benson-eastern-standard <p>EKU President Dr. Michael Benson will be with us to give us an update on some of the projects and initiatives he has launched since his arrival last summer and to answer your questions.<br /><br />Send a question in advance to wekueasternstandard at gmail dot com or call 859-622-1655 or call in “live” during the show.</p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 19 Jan 2014 23:00:00 +0000 John Hingsbergen 54520 at http://weku.fm EKU President Benson on Eastern Standard Michael Carter, Carol Siler retiring from WEKU http://weku.fm/post/michael-carter-carol-siler-retiring-weku <p><span class="userContent" data-ft="{&quot;tn&quot;:&quot;K&quot;}">Friday June 28 is the day when numerous employees of Eastern Kentucky University are beginning retirement as part of a cost-saving plan.&nbsp; Among them are two familiar voices of WEKU: Development Coordinator Carol Siler, whom you have heard many times during station fund drives and other events;</span><span class="userContent" data-ft="{&quot;tn&quot;:&quot;K&quot;}"> and Michael Carter, Music Director and classical music host. </span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 14:01:24 +0000 John Hingsbergen 46383 at http://weku.fm Michael Carter, Carol Siler retiring from WEKU Yo-Yo Ma and Silk Road Ensemble Perform Twice in Central Kentucky http://weku.fm/post/yo-yo-ma-and-silk-road-ensemble-perform-twice-central-kentucky <p>Yo-Yo Ma performed for two American presidents before the age of ten and is perhaps one of the best-known living classical musicians.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 16:17:16 +0000 Roger Duvall 41948 at http://weku.fm Yo-Yo Ma and Silk Road Ensemble Perform Twice in Central Kentucky EKU Center for the Arts Hosts Popular Blue Man Group http://weku.fm/post/eku-center-arts-hosts-popular-blue-man-group <p>November 9th and 10th, the EKU Center for the Arts hosts Blue Man Group. The act started in the late 80s&nbsp;and has been going strong worldwide ever since. While the 3-man acrobatic drumming troupe doesn't utter a word on stage, one of the performers, Chris Smith, talks here with Roger Duvall.</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 16:55:06 +0000 Roger Duvall 41314 at http://weku.fm EKU Center for the Arts Hosts Popular Blue Man Group Capital Projects Lists Are Long http://weku.fm/post/capital-projects-lists-are-long <p><span class="article-content"><span>Kentucky public colleges and universities are already compiling their capital project wish lists.&nbsp;&nbsp; They&#39;re getting ready for next year&#39;s legislative session.&nbsp; A $33 million Engineering-Physics building tops the projects list at Murray State University, but President Randy Dunn says the school also badly needs a new $62 million library. Fri, 17 Jun 2011 20:58:14 +0000 Tony McVeigh, Kentucky Public Radio 6803 at http://weku.fm Capital Projects Lists Are Long