Sidsel Overgaard http://weku.fm en Years After Tragedy, Norwegian Pop Star Returns To World Stage http://weku.fm/post/years-after-tragedy-norwegian-pop-star-returns-world-stage <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7eEzlQ1AD4</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:04:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 55830 at http://weku.fm Years After Tragedy, Norwegian Pop Star Returns To World Stage New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine http://weku.fm/post/new-nordic-food-gods-loosen-strictly-local-cuisine This story begins with a lemon. It appeared not long ago on a houseboat-cum-food lab docked outside Scandinavia's temple of local food, the restaurant noma, in Copenhagen.<p>"Isn't that, like, the forbidden fruit?," I ask. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 54370 at http://weku.fm New Nordic Food Gods Loosen Up On Strictly Local Cuisine When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate http://weku.fm/post/when-cinnamon-spice-not-so-nice-great-danish-debate Who doesn't love a Danish pastry?<br /> <br />And in Denmark, they like their pastries sprinkled with plenty of cinnamon.<br /> <br />But now, Denmark's bakers are being told that their time-honored recipe for the beloved <em>kanelsnegle</em> — or cinnamon swirl — may be unhealthy and against the law. Recent testing by the Danish government found that a large number of the rolls had too much cinnamon — more than the recommended limits set by the European Union.<br /> Wed, 25 Dec 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 53611 at http://weku.fm When Is Cinnamon Spice Not So Nice? The Great Danish Debate Denmark's 'Fix Rooms' Give Drug Users A Safe Haven http://weku.fm/post/denmarks-fix-rooms-give-drug-users-safe-haven Martin Jensen smokes heroin.<p>In the past, when this gaunt-faced Dane had to hide in elevators and stairwells to feed his addiction, he probably wouldn't have been so willing to advertise that fact. Back then, his days were spent scouring Copenhagen — mostly the notorious Vesterbro neighborhood — for places to smoke, out of sight of the police and children. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 21:44:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 53248 at http://weku.fm Denmark's 'Fix Rooms' Give Drug Users A Safe Haven Too Cool For (Bike) Helmet Head? Here's One Swedish Solution http://weku.fm/post/too-cool-bike-helmet-head-heres-one-swedish-solution Hey there, hipster. No bike helmet, huh? Well, we all have our excuses. There are the vanity-driven ones that — let's be honest — explain why the majority of our brain cages sit collecting dust in the dark corners of the garage. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 17:36:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 52046 at http://weku.fm Too Cool For (Bike) Helmet Head? Here's One Swedish Solution Pork Politics: Why Some Danes Want Pig Meat Required On Menus http://weku.fm/post/pork-politics-why-some-danes-want-pig-meat-required-menus In Denmark, pigs outnumber people 2 to 1. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 19:32:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 50539 at http://weku.fm In Eye Control, A Promise To Let Your Tablet Go Hands-Free http://weku.fm/post/eye-control-promise-let-your-tablet-go-hands-free <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ef0qLb8-4k8</p> Mon, 03 Dec 2012 08:24:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 36571 at http://weku.fm In Eye Control, A Promise To Let Your Tablet Go Hands-Free Danes May Bring Back Butter As Government Rolls Back Fat Tax http://weku.fm/post/danes-may-bring-back-butter-government-rolls-back-fat-tax <strong>Toothbutter</strong>: <em>noun. </em>Butter spread so thickly as to reveal teeth marks upon biting.<p>The fact that this word exists in the Danish language should help to explain what politicians were up against when they <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2011/10/03/141014592/denmark-taxes-butter-and-fat-but-will-it-work">introduced</a> the "fat tax" just over a year ago. Tue, 13 Nov 2012 08:46:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 35739 at http://weku.fm Danes May Bring Back Butter As Government Rolls Back Fat Tax Christmas Comes Early For Denmark's Beer Drinkers http://weku.fm/post/christmas-comes-early-denmarks-beer-drinkers <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4wGb0PRnE8</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2012 18:29:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 35252 at http://weku.fm Christmas Comes Early For Denmark's Beer Drinkers As U.S. States Look To Add Food Labels, Denmark Looks To Subtract Some http://weku.fm/post/us-states-look-add-food-labels-denmark-looks-subtract-some Wherever you look these days, it seems labels that strive to send a message about our food are on the table. In California, there's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/10/26/163700238/as-california-vote-looms-scientists-say-no-to-genetically-modified-food-labels">a vote</a> coming up on whether genetically modified foods should be labeled. A few weeks ago, the U.S. Federal Trade Commission updated its <a href="http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2012/10/greenguides.shtm">guidelines</a> for "green" labeling. Mon, 29 Oct 2012 18:27:00 +0000 Sidsel Overgaard 35012 at http://weku.fm As U.S. States Look To Add Food Labels, Denmark Looks To Subtract Some